To Homeschool or Not to Homeschool?

Tim Challies has stirred the waters with a two part series on homeschooling entitled, “Why I do not Homeschool.” You can read them here:

A common resistance that I have heard some people express about homeschooling is that homeschool produces weird people. They argue that there is a higher percentage of awkward folks emerging from homeschools.

On the other hand, I have heard people counter that homeschool doesn’t produce weird people; weird parents produce weird people.

As for me and my house (currently), we are not interested in homeschooling. With both of us coming from public school systems, we see the value in the social interaction it provides. More importantly, we see the opportunity for ministry that it creates.

Are there “dangers” from public schools? Sure, but I believe that these can be overcome (just as they have been in many of us) through the grace of God and the intentionality of the parents in the home environment.

While we are on the subject of schools, my first choice would be a wholesale revision of the American educational system in which they instituted a voucher program that would allow us to receive an equal amount of funds to place towards the school of our choice. The competition would be helpful in improving the quality of all schools.

To homeschool or not to homeschool? That is the question. What is your answer?

One thought on “To Homeschool or Not to Homeschool?

  1. I read the Challies posts and comments last week. It was a VERY heated discussion! I think the best comment I read had to do with the primary reason behind choosing any educational path. It went something along the lines of “I would not choose my child’s schooling based on the value of social interaction nor the opportunity for ministry. I would choose it based on where and how my child can best be educated.” Ministry and social interaction are valid concerns, but they are secondary concerns, as I am sure you would agree. If a quality education can be achieved in public schools, then ministry and social interaction are an added bonus. However, in areas where a proper education cannot be attained in a public school, homeschooling may be a better option, even if you must pursue social interaction and ministry in other ways.

Leave a Reply

