Chris Walker: For Such a Time as This

 Chris Walker

After last night’s incredible basketball win over Texas, Central’s own Chris Walker had the chance of a life time to give an “account for the hope that is in you” (1 Peter 3:15). With the floor flooded with excited fans who rushed the court, Chris was given the microphone and spoke to the largest crowd to ever attend a game at Reed Arena. Here’s what he said:

“Wow, what a game. Thanks for coming out. I want to thank ya’ll so much for coming out. I couldn’t have asked for more from this amazing university, Texas A&M. (loud whooping) Um, man, this has been an amazing ride, and it’s not over yet, but ya know, I wanted to make sure that this is going to be my last game here because, ya know, when we go to the NCAA’s we don’t get to play here. (loud whooping)And, I’d be mistaken if I didn’t thank God for the opportunity that he has given me here. (whooping) My savior, Jesus Christ, is my – my inspiration. He – He’s the man that I try to model everything I do after. I mean, a lot of people talk about me diving on the floor and sacrificing myself, but Jesus Christ is the ultimate sacrifice. (whooping and applause) And without him, there is no way I would have even made this team or even would have had the inspiration to work hard every day to be where I’m at.

“And – and it makes me even more happy to be an Aggie with all my Aggies celebrating with me in my last game here at A&M. (loud cheering, and about 10 seconds of the “Chris-Wal-Ker” chant)“And, uh, I don’t have much more time here on this campus; I’m going to be, uh, up in Dallas here in a couple months. And, I really, and I’m a peoples person. I’m not anything special. I – I used to be playing at the rec two years ago. I’m no different than anybody else that’s out here, so, if ya’ll see me on campus, I want ya’ll to come up and say “hi,” give me a hug or something like that, because we’re all Aggies here. Thank you very much! (loud cheering and “Chris-Wal-Ker” chant resumes).”

During the postgame media interviews, Chris reflected on his comments to the crowd, “We knew it was going to be a war down low, but Coach always tells us if they hit us in the mouth first, hit back. My dream has always been to give my testimony in front of that big of a crowd. (Jesus) is where I get my salvation and strength from. Maybe I made this team for that moment right there.”

Check out Mordecai’s charge to Queen Esther in Esther 4:14 as the Jews faced a plot from Haman to destroy them: “For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place and you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not attained royalty for such a time as this?” People love to quote this scripture as an encouragement for believers to seize their divine moments of opportunity (just as Chris did).

But the more interesting thing is that Mordecai pointed out to Esther that, if Esther did not do this, then “relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place.” In other words, if she didn’t walk through the open door, God would raise someone else up to do it.

Why is this important? Just as God delivered the Jews in this passage, God is going to bring deliverance through Christ to a broken world, and he has invited us to join Him. If we don’t step up in obedience to share our faith, then God will use others. Praise God that on this memorable night in Aggie basketball, there was someone who was faithful to recognize Jesus as the center of it all!

Let Chris’ boldness to proclaim Christ be an inspiration to all of us to walk through the open doors that God gives us each day to testify to Jesus! 

 

Leave a Reply

